Alejandro Vidal, Ryszard Wasko

A Farewell to Arms

Alejandro Vidal, Ryszard Wasko

A Farewell to Arms

Exhibition

6 Feb –28 Feb 2015

Opening

5 Feb 19:00

Curated by

Cornelis van Almsick and Kasia Matt-Uszynska

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Thanks to

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Photography

Julius Unterberger

The poem titled ‘A Farewell to Arms’ by the Englishman George Peele is about the loyalty of an aging knight to his queen. In his successful novel of the same name, published in 1929, Ernest Hemingway tells of Henry Barkley, who turns away from the war out of love for nurse Catherine. Hemingway counteracts the horrors of WWI with a poignant love story, a rejection of war and violence.

The title is the starting point for the juxtaposition of Alejandro Vidal and Ryszard Waśko, who both deal not only with national identity and its potential for conflict but also address social and religious isolation and its expression in everyday culture. In our perception, the term ‘the jungle’ is associated with a deserted paradise, with pure nature, while the law of the jungle is understood to mean a place where the law of the fittest prevails. In his series ‘Paradise of Exception,’ Vidal shows us a jungle landscape full of wild, impenetrable vegetation, with palm trees and a beach, an atmosphere of naturalness, and peace.

read more

But not only the black and white print of the work irritates and makes the viewer pause. The prints are based on reproductions of illustrations taken from Vidal field manuals of the American Army. Books that the soldiers used as a guidance system in the struggle for survival in the jungle. The jungle and its dichotomy between romance and danger, between color and black and white, find their expression in the make-believe world of the images from military manuals.

Vidal's video installation ‘Firestorm’ also plays with ambiguities. What you can see is a seemingly endless string of colorful fireworks, the sound of which unfolds parallel to its image. However, the longer you listen, the more deviations there are: What can be heard are the sounds of war and explosions from an unknown fight.

From the stationery found in the Iraqi embassy in East Berlin, which was abandoned during the Gulf War, Vidal took this English phrase: ‘Through your search for your enemies you will not find them’, which he now applied to the walls of the exhibition room in an in situ work.

Ryszard Waśko was already working with visual media such as film, photography, and video in the 1970s. In his conceptual, media-reflective work, he not only left the boundaries between the artistic genres behind but also repeatedly introduced scientific and mathematical methods into his work. Thus, the editing of his films and the design of his photographs were based on mathematical-geometric principles.

In the work ‘Hypothetical Photography’, created in 1977, Waśko inserted a black and white image of the street into a coordinate system and translated it into a graphic scheme in his drawings, a processing of the photograph that ultimately leads him to a single straight line. In 1987 Waśko took up this idea for his work ‘Hypothetical Checkpoint Charlie’. In a mathematical, geometric, analytical, and destructive process, he dissolves the photographic depiction of ‘Checkpoint Charlie’ in his drawings until the object again disappears in straight lines.

As early as 1987, the work ‘Hypothetical Checkpoint Charlie’ heralds the dissolution of an obsolete Cold War monument in which violence, aggression, and oppression seemed to be stuck forever in concrete. On November 10, 1989, Waśko photographed the now open Checkpoint Charlie again and combined the photographs and drawings into the installation shown in the current exhibition.

In his work ‘No-man’s Land Flags’ from 1997, Waśko presents imaginary flags made up of different colors and shapes, thereby addressing the artificial and often deliberate construction of national identities.

The premises of the exhibition room, an old apartment into whose walls’ history seems to be written, give the exhibition an atmosphere of a deserted place, a place as we know it from pictures from war zones and scenes of violence.

read less
Previous
Four by Twelve
Live Stream Performance

Alejandro Vidal, Ryszard Wasko

A Farewell to Arms

Alejandro Vidal, Ryszard Wasko

A Farewell to Arms

Ausstellung

6 Feb –28 Feb 2015

Eröffnung

5 Feb 19:00

Kuratiert von

Cornelis van Almsick und Kasia Matt-Uszynska

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

Julius Unterberger

Das Gedicht mit dem Titel ›A Farewell to Arms‹ des Engländers George Peele handelt von der Loyalität eines alternden Ritters gegenüber seiner Königin. In seinem 1929 erschienenen gleichnamigen Erfolgsroman erzählt Ernst Hemingway hingegen von Henry Barkley, der sich aus Liebe zur Krankenschwester Catherine vom Krieg abwendet. Hemingway konterkariert die Grauen des Krieges des ersten Weltkriegs mit einer ergreifenden Liebesgeschichte, eine Absage an Krieg und Gewalt.

Der Titel ist Ausgangspunkt der Gegenüberstellung von Alejandro Vidal und Ryszard Waśko, die sich beide nicht nur mit nationaler Identität und deren Konfliktpotential beschäftigen, sondern die ebenso soziale und religiöse Abgrenzung und deren Ausdruck in der Alltagskultur thematisieren. Die Bezeichnung ›Der Dschungel‹ wird einerseits in unserer Wahrnehmung mit einem menschenleeren Paradies, der reinen Natur in Verbindung gebracht, andererseits versteht man unter dem Gesetz des Dschungels einen Ort, wo das Recht des Stärkeren herrscht. So zeigt uns Vidal in seiner Serie ›Paradise of Exception‹ eine Dschungellandschaft voll wilder, undurchdringlicher Vegetation mit Palmen und Strand, eine Atmosphäre von Natürlichkeit und Frieden.

mehr lesen

Doch nicht nur das Schwarz-Weiß des Drucks der Arbeiten irritiert und lässt innehalten. Die Drucke basieren auf Reproduktionen von Abbildungen, die Vidal Feldhandbüchern der amerikanischen Armee entnommen hat. Büchern, die den Soldaten als Leitsystem für den Kampf um das Überleben im Dschungel dienten. Der Dschungel und seine Dichotomie zwischen Romantik und Gefahr, zwischen Farbe und schwarz-weiß finden ihren Ausdruck in der imaginären Welt der Bildvorlagen aus Milit.rhandbüchern.

Auch Vidals Videoinstallation ›Firestorm‹ spielt mit Zweideutigkeiten. Zu sehen ist eine scheinbar endlose Aneinanderreihung von farbenprächtigen Feuerwerken, deren Klang sich parallel zu dessen Abbild entfaltet. Je länger man jedoch zuhört, desto mehr ergeben sich Abweichungen: Zu hören sind: Kriegsgeräusche und Explosionen aus einem unbekannten Kampf.

Dem in der während des Golfkrieges verlassenen irakischen Botschaft in Ost-Berlin gefundenem Briefpapier entnahm Vidal den Satz in englisch: ›Trough your search for your Enemies you will not find them‹, den er nunmehr in einer in situ Arbeit auf die Wände des Ausstellungsraumes auftrug.

Ryszard Waśko arbeitete bereits in den 70 er Jahren mit visuellen Medien wie Film, Fotografie und Video. In seinen konzeptuellen, medienreflexiven Arbeiten ließ er nicht nur die Grenzen zwischen den künstlerischen Gattungen hinter sich, sondern brachte auch immer wieder naturwissenschaftliche, mathematische Methoden in seine Arbeit ein.
So orientierte sich der Schnitt seiner Filme und die Gestaltung seiner Fotografien an mathematisch-geometrischen Prinzipien.

In der im Jahr 1977 entstandenen Arbeit ›Hypothetical Photography‹ fügte er eine schwarz- weiße Straßenabbildung in ein Koordinatensytem ein und übersetzte sie in seinen Zeichnungen in ein graphisches Schema, eine Bearbeitung der Fotografie, die ihn letztlich zu einer einzigen geraden Linie führt. 1987 greift Waśko für seine Arbeit ›Hypothetical Checkpoint Charlie‹ auf diese Idee zurück. In einem mathematisch geometrischen Analytischen und destruktivem Prozess löst er die fotografische Abbildung des ›Checkpoint Charlie‹ in seinen Zeichnungen auf, bis das Objekt wiederum in geraden Linien verschwindet.

Die Arbeit ›Hypothetical Checkpoint Charlie‹ kündet bereits 1987 von der Auflösung eines obsoleten Monuments des Kalten Krieges, in dem Gewalt, Aggression und Unterdrückung für alle Zeiten in Beton gegossen schienen. Am 10. November 1989 fotografierte Waśko noch einmal den nunmehr offenen Checkpoint Charlie und vereinte die Photographien und Zeichnungen zu der in der Ausstellung gezeigten Installation.

In seiner Arbeit ›No-man’s Land Flags‹ aus dem Jahr 1997präsentiert er aus verschiedenen Farben und Formen gebildeten imaginären Fahnen und thematisiert damit die künstliche und oft gewillkürte Konstruktion nationaler Identitäten.

Die Räumlichkeiten des Ausstellungsraumes, einer alten Wohnung, in dessen Wände Geschichte geschrieben zu sein scheint, verleihen der Ausstellung eine Atmosphäre eines verlassenen Ortes, eines Ortes wie wir ihn von Bildern aus Zonen des Krieges und der Gewalt kennen.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Four by Twelve
Live Stream Performance