Ellen Cantor

Madame Bovary’s Revenge

Ellen Cantor

Madame Bovary’s Revenge

Exhibition

21 Sep –25 Sep 2016

Opening

20 Sep 2016, 18:00

Curated by

Synne Genzmer

Location

Parallel Vienna, Raum 2.44, 1010 Wien

Thanks to

Ursula Blickle Video Archiv, Belvedere 21

Photography

Parallel Vienna

Women, love, pleasure: Ellen Cantor’s Madame Bovary’s Revenge reflects on romance and sexuality, but also on the oppressive aspects of gender roles and representation of women through media.

In her first film work, the artist tells a love story by referring to three female characters, who follow their own desires and break the rules of conventional society: Gustav Flaubert’s 1856 novel’s heroine Madame Bovary doesn’t keep her promise of faithfulness that is expected of a spouse; the female protagonist of Louis Malle’s Les Amants (1958), Jeanne (played by Jeanne Moreau) spends a passionate night with her lover; Marilyn Chamber’s performance in the pornographic film Behind the Green Door (1972), which was shown in regular movie theatres.

read more

By combining Hollywood-like scenarios with explicit sexual imagery, uncommon in classical cinema, the artist adds a strong physical component to her own film version of a romantic encounter. Ellen Cantor herself once stated, ‘My perversion is the belief in true love’. The artist not only shared her perceptions of personal desire but also expressed her critical attitude towards representation (‘Don’t trust the image’). Drawing upon various sources from the cultural history of womanhood, her work challenges normative concepts of female identity in order to open up new forms of women’s self-expression.

Ellen Cantor (b. Detroit, USA 1961–2013) was an artist working between New York and London. In the 1980s and early 1990s, she was mainly producing sculptures and paintings. Later on, she became recognized for her short films and drawings. Her work often includes fantastic narrative elements, playful and poetic notes, fragments from films, mass media, and cultural history. This unique way of storytelling weaves together subjects of love, sexuality, psychology, and politics. Cantor’s works were widely exhibited internationally. Neuer Kunstverein Wien is organizing a film retrospective at the beginning of 2017, featuring works of the artist from 1995 to 2016.

read less
Previous
Markus Hanakam & Roswita Schuller
Die acht Schätze – 八宝

Ellen Cantor

Madame Bovary’s Revenge

Ellen Cantor

Madame Bovary’s Revenge

Ausstellung

21 Sep –25 Sep 2016

Eröffnung

20 Sep 2016, 18:00

Kuratiert von

Synne Genzmer

Ort

Parallel Vienna, Raum 2.44, 1010 Wien

Dank an

Ursula Blickle Video Archiv, Belvedere 21

Fotografie

Parallel Vienna

Die Frau, die Liebe, die Lust: Ellen Cantors Madame Bovary’s Revenge spricht über Sexualität und Romantik, aber auch über den Zwang gesellschaftlich vorgegebener Geschlechterrollen und über mediale Bilder, die ein Sosein weiblicher Identität vorschreiben.

In ihrer ersten Filmarbeit erzählt die Künstlerin eine Liebesgeschichte, indem sie auf drei Frauenfiguren Bezug nimmt, die für den Ausbruch aus moralischen Konventionen und für sexuelles Vergnügen stehen: Flauberts Madame Bovary, die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts revolutionär war, weil sie sich den Ansprüchen an eine treue Ehefrau widersetzte. Jeanne, gespielt von Jeanne Moreau, die sich in Louis Malles Les Amants 1958 einer außerehelichen Liebesnacht hingibt. Und schließlich Gloria, gespielt von Marilyn Chambers, die im Pornoklassiker Behind the Green Door 1972 noch im normalen Kino zusehen war.

mehr lesen

Durch die für das klassische Kino unübliche Verschränkung von hollywoodesker Andeutung und expliziten Bildern fügt Cantor in ihrer filmischen Darstellung einer romantischen Begegnung die körperliche Komponente hinzu. Das Bekenntnis der Künstlerin ›My perversion is the believe in true love‹ meint nicht nur eine Sehnsucht oder Intensität, sondern verweist auch auf ihre grundsätzlich repräsentationskritische Haltung (›Don’t trust the image‹). Cantor konterkariert medial und kulturell vermittelte Weiblichkeitskonzepte, um weibliche Identität von Klischees zu befreien und neue Formen zu finden, die einen direkten, freien Selbstausdrucks einschließen.

Ellen Cantor, geboren 1961 in Detroit, Michigan, gestorben 2013 in New York, hat in London und New York gelebt und gearbeitet. In den 1980er und frühen 1990er Jahren arbeitete sie vor allem in den Medien Malerei und Skulptur, bevor sie mit Videoarbeiten und Zeichnungen bekannt wurde. Sie entwickelte eine einzigartige Erzählweise, die narrative fantastische Elemente mit poetisch verspielten Notizen, Versatzstücken aus Film- und Kulturgeschichte sowie Bildern der Massenkultur verbindet, um die Themen Liebe, Sexualität, Psychologie und Politik künstlerisch auszuloten. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt. Der Neue Kunstverein Wien zeigt Anfang 2017 eine Filmretrospektive mit Arbeiten der Künstlerin von 1995 bis 2016.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Markus Hanakam & Roswita Schuller
Die acht Schätze – 八宝