The Devil to Pay
in the Backlands

Artists

Pablo Accinelli, Brishty Alam, Skip Arnold, Anna-Sophie Berger, Andreas Duscha, Anna Franceschini, Cristiano Lenhardt, Ursula Mayer, Elena Narbutaite, Matheus Rocha Pitta, Sara Ramo, Klaus Spiess & Lucie Strecker, Camila Sposati, Marina Sula

Curated by

Ursula Mayer / Bernardo José de Souza

Exhibition

10 Sep – 12 Nov 2022

Opening

10 Sep 14:00 – 18:00

Location

Rennweg 110-116

The images were created by an AI powered Text to Image Generator based on the title of the show: The Devil to Pay in the Backlands. © Ursula Mayer

Vienna, year unknown

‘…but the bodies in the figurehead which they formed looked into the darkness, as one looks into the future’.
Jean Genet

As the result of an amorphous present, the elements in this show may take the shape of things yet to come. The brutal transformation of nature by capitalist societies, the subduing of non-western cultures and wisdoms, as well as the corruption of language and communication by algorithms, sets the political sphere into an entropic maelstrom of destruction and instability. On the verge of a virtual collapse of meaning experimented in our times, faced with a state of imminent aporia, The devil to pay in the backlands enquiries about the future sideways, rearranging visual tropes, and perhaps luring one, as Catherine Malabou expresses, ‘to see (what is) coming’ .

Devised as an occupation, this exhibition shelters a myriad of entities under the dome of what used to be an autohaus, a former temple of consumption and commodity fetishism. Such postmodernist building of sorts, located just outside the city center of Vienna, works as a provisional space, an arena where the body, the architecture, the urban landscape and their topographies engage in a semantic intercourse that explores the limits of plasticity in current times.

The devil to pay in the backlands navigates different narratives, anachronies and archaeologies in an attempt to observe, learn from and share a common ground with diverse creatures, objects and technologies which, in spite of their uncanny features, appear strangely familiar to the senses of those eager to excavate the ulterior layers of reality in order to attribute meaning to unforeseen social-political scenarios and cultural manifestations. History unfolds in the wake of an ‘unequal accumulation of time’ , in the overlapping of material and symbolic culture, artificial and natural matter — and therefore space derives from both the past and the present, allowing for latent futures to acquire shape.

read more

‘Doesn’t everyone sell his soul? I tell you, sir: the devil does not exist, there is no devil, yet I sold him my soul. That is what I am afraid of. To whom did I sell it? That is what I am afraid of, my dear sir: we sell our souls, only there is no buyer.’
João Guimarães Rosa

The fear of what is foreign, alien to the Occident’s supposedly sealed landscapes and bodies, pervades the very search for the ‘who of things’ , that hidden nature most blatantly ignored in order to cast a vertical light over human history. And insofar as one might entertain the idea that through destruction the Other will be consumed, devoured, devoid of its most powerful resources, alas!, something else takes place instead: a chimera emerges under a transformative and, at times, blinding light — anthropophagy as a rite and as a political tool. Only partly human, the contingent of entities gathered in this tent exist under the sign of cannibalism and transformation: as if by digesting each other’s bodies, as well as other organic and inorganic matter, machines were turned into sentient beings, debris into oneiric material, vital organs into oracles, vegetables into a liturgic piece of yore.

Borrowed from Guimarães Rosa’s linguistic ground-breaking novel of the same title, The devil to pay in the backlands speaks of precariousness, destruction, regeneration, degeneration — and in a less evident Faustian key, also about a pact with the Devil . In doing so, it flirts with a future landscape, a no man’s land where economic negotiations have come to a close, exhausting nature, politics, affection and language altogether. The promiscuous relationships long stablished with material resources have increasingly deepened the abyss between humans themselves and the natural world in a broad extent; thus, technology emerges as a second nature, forging virtual, albeit ubiquitous, hegemonic political and ideological ties with a vast array of distinct cultures across the globe.

Over this treacherous zone where life risks disappearing, and technology subsumes humankind to a grammatical dynamic of its own accord, lies a world of many worlds — an existential plane in which the extensive totality of things and relations created by human beings appears to take on a life of its own, as though it had acquired the capacity to function independently of the agency that initially set it in place.

Invested with corrosive desire, arrested by inequality, and battered by the shattering reality of escalating global turmoil, humanity carries on playing with the Devil, inexorably dependent on nature, bewitched by material culture whilst thoroughly subjected to a perverse political endgame.

Text: Bernardo José de Souza

read less
More Exhibitions
HIER UND JETZT
Vienna Sculpture 2022

The Devil to Pay
in the Backlands

KünstlerInnen

Pablo Accinelli, Brishty Alam, Skip Arnold, Anna-Sophie Berger, Andreas Duscha, Anna Franceschini, Cristiano Lenhardt, Ursula Mayer, Elena Narbutaite, Matheus Rocha Pitta, Sara Ramo, Klaus Spiess & Lucie Strecker, Camila Sposati, Marina Sula

Kuratiert von

Ursula Mayer / Bernardo José de Souza

Ausstellung

10 Sep – 12 Nov 2022

Eröffnung

10 Sep 14:00 – 18:00

Ort

Rennweg 110-116

The images were created by an AI powered Text to Image Generator based on the title of the show: The Devil to Pay in the Backlands. © Ursula Mayer

Wien, Jahr unbekannt

› …but the bodies in the figurehead which they formed looked into the darkness, as one looks into the future.‹
Jean Genet

Als Ergebnis einer gestaltlosen Gegenwart nehmen die Elemente dieser Ausstellung die Form von Dingen an, die noch kommen werden. Die brutale Umgestaltung der Natur durch kapitalistische Gesellschaften, die Unterwerfung von nicht-westlichem Wissen und Kulturen sowie die Korruption von Sprache und Kommunikation durch Algorithmen, versetzen die politische Sphäre in einen entropischen Strudel der Zerstörung und Instabilität. Am Rande eines virtuellen Zusammenbruchs der erprobten Bedeutungen unserer Zeit und angesichts einer drohenden Aporie stellt The Devil to Pay in the Backlands Fragen nach der Zukunft, ordnet visuelle Tropen neu und lockt uns vielleicht, wie Catherine Malabou es ausdrückt, ›to see (what is) coming‹ .

Die Ausstellung ist als Besetzung konzipiert; unter der Kuppel eines ehemaligen Autohauses, eines ehemaligen Tempels für Konsum und Warenfetischismus, beherbergt sie eine Vielzahl von Objekten. Dieses postmoderne Gebäude, das sich etwas außerhalb des Stadtzentrums von Wien befindet, fungiert als provisorischer Raum, als Arena, in der Körper, Architektur, urbane Landschaft und ihre Topografien in einen semantischen Austausch treten, der die Grenzen der Plastizität der heutigen Zeit auslotet.

The Devil to Pay in the Backlands navigiert verschiedene Narrative, Anachronismen und Archäologien im Versuch, zu beobachten, zu lernen und eine gemeinsame Grundlage mit Objekten, Lebewesen, Bildern und Technologien zu schaffen, die, trotz ihrer teils unheimlichen Erscheinung, den Sinnen derjenigen, die nach den tieferen Schichten der Realität forschen, um unvorhergesehene sozial-politische Kontexte und kulturelle Manifestationen mit Bedeutung zu versehen, seltsam vertraut sind. Dem Geographen Milton Santos zufolge entfaltet sich die Geschichte im Zuge einer ›ungleichen Akkumulation von Zeit‹, in einer Überschneidung von künstlicher und natürlicher Materie, von symbolischer und materieller Kultur - so entsteht der Raum sowohl aus Vergangenem als auch Gegenwärtigem und gibt latenten Zukünften eine Gestalt.

mehr lesen

›Doesn’t everyone sell his soul? I tell you, sir: the devil does not exist, there is no devil, yet I sold him my soul. That is what I am afraid of. To whom did I sell it? That is what I am afraid of, my dear sir: we sell our souls, only there is no buyer. ‹
João Guimarães Rosa

Die Angst vor dem Fremden, vor dem, was den vermeintlich in-sich-geschlossenen Landschaften und Körpern des Abendlandes fremd ist, durchdringt die Suche nach dem ›who of things‹ (Wer der Dinge) , jener verborgenen Natur, die am meisten dort ignoriert wird, wo die menschliche Geschichte aus einem einzelnen Blickpunkt betrachtet wird. Und wenn man auf die Idee kommen könnte, dass das Andere durch die Zerstörung verzehrt, verschlungen, seiner wichtigsten Ressourcen beraubt wird, findet stattdessen leider etwas anderes statt: Eine Chimäre entsteht in einem transformativen und bisweilen blendenden Licht - Anthropophagie als Ritus und als politisches Werkzeug. Die unter diesem Zelt versammelten, nur teilweise menschlichen Wesen existieren im Zeichen des Kannibalismus und der Verwandlung: Als ob durch die gegenseitige Verdauung von Körpern und anderer organischer und anorganischer Materie Maschinen in empfindungsfähige Wesen, Trümmer in traum-gleiches Material, lebenswichtige Organe in Orakel, Gemüse in ein liturgisches Stück verwandelt würden.

In Anlehnung an Guimarães Rosas sprachlich bahnbrechenden Roman des gleichen Titels spricht The Devil to Pay in the Backlands von Prekarität, Zerstörung, Erneuerung, Degeneration - und in einer weniger offensichtlichen faustischen Tonart auch von einem Pakt mit dem Teufel. Dabei kokettiert die Ausstellung mit einer zukünftigen Landschaft, einem Niemandsland, in dem die wirtschaftlichen Verhandlungen zu Ende und Natur, Politik, Zuneigung und Sprache aufgebraucht ist. Die promiskuitiven Beziehungen, die wir seit langem zu materiellen Ressourcen pflegen, haben den Abgrund zwischen den Menschen und der natürlichen Welt zunehmend vertieft; so wird die Technologie zu einer zweiten Natur, die virtuelle, allgegenwärtige politische und ideologische Verbindungen zwischen einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Kulturen der ganzen Welt knüpft.

Über dieser tückischen Zone, in der das Leben zu verschwinden droht und die Technologie den Menschen einer grammatikalischen Eigendynamik unterwirft, liegt eine Welt der vielen Welten - eine existentielle Ebene, in der die umfassende Gesamtheit der von Menschen geschaffenen Dinge und Beziehungen ein Eigenleben zu führen scheint, als hätten sie die Fähigkeit erlangt, unabhängig von dem Willen zu agieren, der sie ursprünglich geschaffen hatte.

Von verzehrendem Begehren durchdrungen, von Ungleichheit erdrückt und von der erschütternden Realität eskalierender globaler Unruhen erschüttert, spielt die Menschheit weiter mit dem Teufel, unerbittlich abhängig von der Natur, betört von der materiellen Kultur und gleichzeitig einem perversen politischen Endspiel durch und durch unterworfen.

Text: Bernardo José de Souza

weniger lesen
Weitere Ausstellungen
HIER UND JETZT
Wien Skulptur 2022