Anna Artaker, Meike S. Gleim

Ich habe nichts zu sagen. Nur zu zeigen.

Anna Artaker, Meike S. Gleim

Ich habe nichts zu sagen. Nur zu zeigen.

Exhibition

17 Oct –24 Nov 2013

Opening

16 Oct 19:00

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Thanks to

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Photography

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

This exhibition, showing works by Anna Artaker and Meike S. Gleim, is dedicated to social transformations, ruptures, and phenomena that — corresponding to Walter Benjamin's chapters in Passagenwerk — are related to the technical development, the spreading of mirrors and lighting.

Today, artificial light and the proliferation of images often coincide: images are broadcast and the screen itself emits light (computer screen, TV screen, smartphone display...), advertising surfaces are illuminated at night or are themselves sources of light. The mirror, in turn, is replaced by the digital reproduction of our environment: photo and video cameras in cell phones or in public spaces to monitor the same are omnipresent and simultaneously reflect the visible world like a mirror.

read more

Illumination and mirror thus grow together as two sides of the digital and virtual world, confronting us with an inexhaustible flood of images. We counter this flood of images with addiction, distraction, fatigue, and neurosis. The montage of images that spreads across the two window fronts of the Neuer Kunstverein Wien explores this development of the last decades by stopping the digital flood of images — the images are not presented digitally but analogously — and freezing time: a bench in front of the window front casts a shadow that lies in space as an unchanging object. In this way, the exhibition invites us to pause and contemplate the developments that can be read as an extension of the effects of lighting and reflection.

The images that reflect these technical and social developments are arranged in such a way to mimetic and dialectical entanglements, tensions, and moods become visible. In the process, common systems of order are disturbed, and connections are made between things that are otherwise considered foreign in nature.

The exhibition title ICH HABE NICHTS ZU SAGEN. NUR ZU ZEIGEN. ('I have nothing to say. Only to show') is a quotation from Walter Benjamin that characterizes his method in the Passagenwerk (W. Benjamin, GS, Vol. V1, p. 574). The same gesture is relevant for ATLAS VON ARKADIEN, the attempt by Anna Artaker and Meike S. Gleim to subject the Passagenwerk to a twofold translation.

The first translation is seen through the transfer of the motifs, which Benjamin analyses on the basis of the technical developments of the 19th century, into the late 20th century. The second is achieved by taking Benjamin's statement that he had ‘only [something] to show’ seriously insofar as Artaker and Gleim collect and assemble images instead of quotations and textual excerpts as Benjamin does.

Anna Artaker
Born 1976 in Vienna. Lives and works in Vienna

Meike S. Gleim
Born 1972 in Wolfsburg. Lives and works in Paris

Artaker and Gleim's artistic research project entitled ATLAS VON ARKADIEN at the Institute for Art and Cultural Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna is supported by the FWF within the framework of the Program for the Development and Exploitation of the Arts (PEEK).
See also: anthropologicalmaterialism.hypotheses.org/

read less
Previous
João Onofre

Anna Artaker, Meike S. Gleim

Ich habe nichts zu sagen. Nur zu zeigen.

Anna Artaker, Meike S. Gleim

Ich habe nichts zu sagen. Nur zu zeigen.

Ausstellung

17 Okt –24 Nov 2013

Eröffnung

16 Okt 19:00

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Unterstützt von

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

Die Ausstellung von Anna Artaker und Meike S. Gleim widmet sich sozialen Wandlungen, Brüchen und Phänomenen, die — analog zu Walter Benjamins entsprechenden Kapiteln im Passagenwerk — mit der technischen Entwicklung und Ausbreitung von Spiegeln und Beleuchtung in Zusammenhang stehen.

Kunstlicht und die Verbreitung von Bildern fallen heute oft zusammen: Bilder werden ausgestrahlt und der Bildschirm strahlt selbst Licht aus (Computerscreen, TV-Schirm, Smartphone-Display…), Werbeflächen werden nachts angestrahlt oder sind selbst Lichtquellen. Der Spiegel wiederum wird durch die digitale Wiedergabe unsrer Umwelt ersetzt: Foto- und Videokameras im Mobiltelefon oder im öffentlichen Raum zur Überwachung desselben sind allgegenwärtig und spiegeln die sichtbare Welt simultan wie ein Spiegel.

mehr lesen

Beleuchtung und Spiegel wachsen so als zwei Seiten der digitalen und virtuellen Welt zusammen, die uns mit einer unerschöpflichen Bilderflut konfrontiert. Dieser Flut an Bildern begegnen wir mit Sucht, Zerstreutheit, Müdigkeit und Neurosen. Die Montage von Bildern, die sich über die beiden Fensterfronten des Neuen Kunstverein Wien ausbreitet, untersucht diese Entwicklung der letzten Jahrzehnte, indem sie die digitale Bilderflut anhält — die Bilder werden nicht digital, sondern analog präsentiert — und die Zeit einfriert: eine Bank vor der Fensterfront wirft einen Schatten, der als unveränderliches Objekt im Raum liegt. So lädt die Ausstellung zum Innehalten und zur Kontemplation der Entwicklungen ein die sich als Erweiterung der Effekte von Beleuchtung und Spiegelung lesen lassen.

Die Bilder die diese technischen und sozialen Entwicklungen reflektieren, sind so angeordnet, dass mimetische und dialektische Verschränkungen, Spannungen und Stimmungen sichtbar werden. Dabei werden gängige Ordnungssysteme gebrochen und Verbindungen hergestellt zwischen Dingen, man sonst als wesensfremd betrachtet.

Der Ausstellungstitel ICH HABE NICHTS ZU SAGEN. NUR ZU ZEIGEN. ist ein Zitat Walter Benjamins, das seine Methode im Passagenwerk charakterisiert (W. Benjamin, GS, Bd. V1, S. 574). Derselbe Gestus ist relevant für den ATLAS VON ARKADIEN, dem Versuch von Anna Artaker und Meike S. Gleim das Passagenwerk einer zweifachen Übersetzung zu unterziehen.

Einerseits indem die Motive, die Benjamin anhand der technischen Entwicklungen des 19. Jahrhunderts abhandelt, auf das späte 20. Jahrhundert übertragen werden. Andrerseits, indem sie Benjamins Aussage, er hätte ›nur [etwas] zu zeigen‹ insofern ernst nehmen, als Artaker und Gleim Bilder sammeln und montieren anstatt wie Benjamin Zitate und Textexzerpte.

Anna Artaker
Geboren 1976 in Wien. Lebt und arbeitet in Wien

Meike S. Gleim
Geboren 1972 in Wolfsburg. Lebt und arbeitet in Paris

Artaker und Gleims künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt mit dem Titel ATLAS VON ARKADIEN am Institut für Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien wird unterstützt vom FWF im Rahmen des Programms zur Entwicklung und Erschließung der Künste (PEEK).

Siehe auch: anthropologicalmaterialism.hypotheses.org/

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
João Onofre