Claudia Larcher

Set This House In Order

Claudia Larcher

Set This House In Order

Exhibition Series

Exhibition

12 Apr – 9 May 2019

Opening

11 Apr 19:00

Location

Goethegasse 1, 1010 Wien

Photography

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

With her exhibition at the Neuer Kunstverein Wien, Claudia Larcher continues the project Set This House in Order.

In her works, Claudia Larcher deals with spaces she associates with a sense of home, familiarity, and memory. ‘Home’ stands for identity, attachment, and history in the sense of a lived past. The spaces the artist deals with are thus, on the one hand, topographical realities, and on the other, spaces of memory and imagination.

read more

The video animation ‘Mies’, 2016, is based on photographic views of Mies van der Rohe's buildings: details of interiors and lattice structures of entire facades are mounted next to and on top of each other. In this video, as in the ‘Mies’ series, Claudia Larcher sets in motion a complex alternation between two- and three-dimensionality.

The work ‘Yama’, 2010, which is part of the whole installation with collages and objects, offers a glimpse into the rooms of a traditional Japanese house by means of a fictitious tracking shot. Tatami rooms and shojis meet kimono and koi. The video is a collage of fragments displaying various rooms that the artist inhabited during her stay in Japan. The work was condensed with excerpts of old ukiyo-e's and scenes from Kabuki theater.

In her site-specific video animation ’Hongo’, 2011, Claudia Larcher uses footage she shot in or around the exhibition space Tokyo Wonder Site in Hongo. In a collage-like manner, she digitally assembles photo and video material. In the exhibition space, the projection creates perspective shifts of the spatial architecture or visual duplications by the placement of projected architectural details next to real structures.

‘Set This House in Order’ is an exhibition in progress in which the artists Annja Krautgasser, Claudia Larcher, and Bernd Oppl engage in exchange in individual consecutive and complimentary presentations. The artists deal with architectural, psychological, and social spaces. These are contextualized in the new premises of the Neuer Kunstverein Wien. The title of the exhibition, which refers to a literary source from Krautgasser's newly produced performative installation ’Rollenszenen’, comes from the crime novel ’Ich und die Anderen’ (English ’Set this House in Order’) by Matt Ruff, which tells the story of a man suffering from multiple personality disorder.

read less
Previous
Annja Krautgasser
Set This House In Order

Claudia Larcher

Set This House In Order

Claudia Larcher

Set This House In Order

Eine Ausstellungsreihe

Ausstellung

12 Apr – 9 Mai 2019

Eröffnung

11 Apr 19:00

Ort

Goethegasse 1, 1010 Wien

Fotografie

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

Mit ihrer Ausstellung im Neuen Kunstverein Wien setzt Claudia Larcher das Projekt Set This House in Order fort. 

Claudia Larcher beschäftigt sich in ihren Arbeiten mit Räumen, die für sie mit Heimatgefühl, Vertrautheit und Erinnerung verbunden sind. ›Heimat‹ steht für Identität, Bindung und Geschichte im Sinne von gelebter Vergangenheit. Die Räume, mit denen sich die Künstlerin auseinandersetzt, sind somit einerseits topographische Gegebenheiten, andererseits Erinnerungs- und Vorstellungsräume.

mehr lesen

Die Videoanimation ›Mies‹, 2016 basiert auf fotografischen Ansichten von Gebäuden Mies van der Rohes: Details von Innenräumen und Gitterstrukturen ganzer Fassaden werden aneinander und übereinander montiert. Claudia Larcher setzt in diesem Video wie auch in der Serie Mies einen komplexen Wechsel zwischen Zwei- und Dreidimensionalität in Gang.

Die Arbeit ›Yama‹, 2010, die ein Teil der ganzen Installation mit Collagen und Objekten ist, bietet anhand einer fiktiven Kamerafahrt einen Einblick in die Räume eines traditionellen japanischen Hauses. Tatamizimmer und Shojis treffen auf Kimono und Kois. Das Video ist eine Collage aus Fragmenten verschiedenster Zimmer, welche die Künstlerin während ihres Aufenthaltes in Japan bewohnt hat. Die Arbeit wurde mit Ausschnitten alter Ukiyo-e's und Szenen aus dem Kabuki-Theater verdichtet.

In ihrer ortsspezifischen Videoanimation ›Hongo‹, 2011 setzt Claudia Larcher Bildmaterial ein, das sie im Ausstellungsraum der Tokyo Wonder Site in Hongo oder in dessen Umgebung aufgenommen hat. Collageartige montiert sie in digitaler Bearbeitung Foto- und Videomaterial zusammen. Im Ausstellungsraum entstehen durch die Projektion perspektivische Verschiebungen der Raumarchitektur oder Verdoppelungen, indem die Projektion architektonischer Details neben reale Strukturen treten.

›Set This House in Order‹ ist eine Ausstellung in Progress, in der die Künstler_innen Annja Krautgasser, Claudia Larcher und Bernd Oppl in einzelnen aufeinander folgenden und sich ergänzenden Präsentationen in Austausch treten. Die Künstler_innen beschäftigen sich mit architektonischen, psychologischen sowie sozialen Räumen, die in den neuen Räumlichkeiten des Neuen Kunstverein Wien kontextualisiert werden. Der Titel der Ausstellung, der auf eine literarische Quelle aus Krautgassers neu produzierter performativen Installation Rollenszenen verweist, stammt von dem Kriminalroman ›Ich und die Anderen‹ (engl. OT ›Set this House in Order‹) von Matt Ruff, in der die Geschichte eines Mannes erzählt wird, der an einer multiplen Persönlichkeitsstörung leidet. 

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Annja Krautgasser
Set This House In Order