Kay Walkowiak

Habitat

Kay Walkowiak

Habitat

Exhibition

17 Sep –12 Nov 2015

Opening

16 Sep 19:00

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Thanks to

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Photography

Matthias Bildstein

In his exhibition ‘Habitat’ conceived for the Neuer Kunstverein Wien, Kay Walkowiak uses a variety of media to explore basic types of geometric forms that recur throughout history, their sociopolitical meanings in different cultures, and above all their performativity.

For example, his latest video work ‘Habitat’ (2015) shows relics of human endeavors in the outskirts of Beijing, which, as failed investments of China's rapid economic growth, now represent fallow spaces in-between: A desiccated palm house restaurant, monumental shell fragments of a Disneyland castle copy, and concrete pathways occupied by lush vegetation, appearing as if they wind upon themselves. Walkowiak captures the sculptural possibilities of these forms in a series of fixed settings, allowing the abandoned, the unused, and the forgotten to become sites of potential. With a lexicon of formal associations that range from Plato's ideas to positions of modernist and post-minimalist sculpture, old terrain comes alive again.

read more

In other works presented in the exhibition, Kay Walkowiak, is focused on concepts of emptiness and fullness, proximity and distance, and display and situation. Thus, the exhibition visitor enters the Kunstverein through an open geometric construction made of steel, ‘Untitled’ (2015), whose exposed concrete foundations only hint at its former location as a trace. With this work, Walkowiak not only creates a space of temporary layers of fragmentary temporality, but also places the visitor in an immediate performative relationship to the work.

The sculptural objects ‘Untitled (Locked) (#1,#2)’ (2014/2015) refer to the modernist promise of the sublimity of geometric forms: Walkowiak chains together minimal objects made of steel and concrete with U-locks, creating dense choreographies and absurd narratives: the ready-mades that refer to possession turn the autonomous objects into fetishes of social rituals.

The series ‘Black Rectangles’ (2014) negotiates spatial situations of formal references through a two-dimensional medium. The minimalist compositions have the quality of an installation: narrative spaces open up between photographic motifs and black surfaces. The potentiality of the interstice of the white surface of the paper is as important here as the empty exhibition space between Walkowiak's sculptural works in installation settings. Here, too, the works always remain open and generate new meaning with each viewing.

Kay Walkowiak, born 1980 in Salzburg, lives and works in Vienna. Studied at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and at the University of Applied Arts Vienna.

read less
Previous
Mathias Pöschl
alle gewehre aufs rathaus

Kay Walkowiak

Habitat

Kay Walkowiak

Habitat

Ausstellung

17 Sep –12 Nov 2015

Eröffnung

16 Sep 19:00

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

Matthias Bildstein

In seiner für den Neuen Wiener Kunstverein konzipierten Ausstellung ›Habitat‹ setzt sich Kay Walkowiak in unterschiedlichen Medien mit geschichtlich wiederkehrenden Grundtypen geometrischer Formen, deren soziopolitischen Bedeutungen in unterschiedlichen Kulturen und vor allem mit ihrer Performativität auseinander.

So zeigt seine neueste filmische Arbeit ›Habitat‹ (2015) Relikte menschlicher Unternehmungen in den Randzonen Pekings, die als gescheiterte Investments in Chinas rasantem Wirtschaftswachstum nun brachliegende Zwischenräume darstellen: Ein ausgetrocknetes Palmenhaus-Restaurant, monumentale Rohbaufragmente einer Disneyland-Schloss-Kopie und Wege aus Beton, die von üppiger Vegetation eingenommen, in sich selbst endend erscheinen. Walkowiak fängt die skulpturalen Möglichkeiten dieser Formen in einer Serie von fixen Einstellungen ein, in dem er das Verlassene, das Unbenutzte und das Vergessene zu Orten des Potenziellen werden lässt. Mit einem Lexikon an formalen Assoziationen, welche sich von Platons Ideen zu Positionen modernistischer und postminimalistischer Skulptur hin erstrecken, wird altes Terrain wieder lebendig.

mehr lesen

In weiteren in der Ausstellung präsentierten Werken arbeitet Kay Walkowiak konzentriert mit Konzepten der Leere und Fülle, Nähe und Distanz sowie Display und Situation. So betritt der Ausstellungsbesucher den Kunstverein durch eine offene geometrische Konstruktion aus Stahl ›Untitled‹ (2015), dessen freigelegte Betonfundamente seine ehemalige Verortung lediglich als Spur erahnen lassen. Mit dieser Arbeit erschafft Walkowiak nicht nur einen Raum von temporären Schichten fragmentarischer Zeitlichkeit, sondern setzt den Besucher in einen unmittelbar performativen Bezug zum Werk.

Auf das modernistische Versprechen der Erhabenheit geometrischer Formen verweisen die skulpturalen Objekte ›Untitled (Locked) (#1,#2)‹ (2014/2015): Walkowiak kettet minimale Objekte aus Stahl und Beton mit Bügelschlössern zusammen und erzeugt somit dichte Choreographien und absurde Narrative: Die auf Besitz verweisenden Ready Mades machen die autonomen Objekte zu Fetischen gesellschaftlicher Rituale.

Die Serie ›Black Rectangles‹ (2014) verhandlet räumliche Situationen formaler Bezüge über ein zweidimensionales Medium. Die minimalistischen Kompositionen haben installative Qualitäten: zwischen fotografischen Motiven und schwarzen Flächen eröffnen sich narrative Räume. Die Potenzialität des Zwischenraums der weißen Fläche des Papiers ist hier ebenso wichtig wie der leere Ausstellungsraum zwischen Walkowiaks skulpturalen Arbeiten in installativen Settings. Auch hier bleiben die Werke stets offen und generieren sich mit jeder Betrachtung neu.

Kay Walkowiak,1980 in Salzburg geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Wien.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Mathias Pöschl
alle gewehre aufs rathaus