They Want EFX

Exhibition

2 – 22 May 2016

Opening

1 May, 19:00

Curated By

Amir Shariat

Location

Renngasse 10, 1010 Wien

feat. Giuseppe Amadio, Tomek Baran, Raphael Danke, Bruno Gambone, Dario Guccio, Mohamed Nahou, Michael Rey

Thanks to

Rennweg 10, A-1010, JP Immobilien

In the exhibition ‘They Want EFX’ the Neue Kunstverein Wien is presenting artists of two generations, Guiseppe Amadio (b. 1944) and Bruno Gambone (b. 1936), who were still working in the environment of the Group Zero and the young artists, Dario Guccio (b. 1988), Michael Rey (b. 1979), Mohamed Namou (b. 1987), Raphael Danke (b. 1972) and Tomek Baran. They are concerned with questions of light and space, the impact of color and material, optical effects, and the dissolution of the boundaries between paintings, objects, and installation. The great interest the artists of the exhibition had for Group Zero and its protagonists, Heinz Mack, Günther Ücker and Otto Piene, but also for works and ideas of Lucio Fontana, Piero Manzoni or Yves Klein, show, how much significance, power and topicality their ideas held, even beyond their time.

read more

While the works of Guiseppe Amadio and Bruno Gambone, who still knew the artists of the Zero Group and were in dialogue with them, reveal direct references and a similar artistic practice, the younger generation is also repeatedly concerned with allusions to and paraphrasing of an attitude and its time.

The exhibition takes place in an abandoned office building, whose cool standardized architecture, committed to modernism, provides an ideal setting for the abstract works that address surface, space and color.

The title of the exhibition is based on the well-known rap song of the 90s ‘They want EFX’ by the hip-hop group EFX, which in its manifest-like rebellion could make an ideal accompanying melody to the exhibition.

read less
Previous
Barbara Hammer

They Want EFX

Ausstellung

2 – 22. Mai 2016

Eröffnung

1 Mai 14:00

Kuratiert von

Amir Shariat

Ort

Renngasse 10, 1010 Wien

feat. Giuseppe Amadio, Tomek Baran, Raphael Danke, Bruno Gambone, Dario Guccio, Mohamed Nahou, Michael Rey

Dank an

Rennweg 10, A-1010, JP Immobilien

Der Neue Kunstverein Wien zeigt in der Ausstellung ›They Want EFX‹ Künstler zweier Generationen, Guiseppe Amadio (geb. 1974) und Bruno Gambone (geb. 1936), die noch im Umfeld der Gruppe Zero arbeiteten und junge Künstler, Dario Guccio (geb. 1988), Michael Rey (geb. 1979), Mohamed Namou (geb. 1987), Raphael Danke (geb. 1972) und Tomek Baran weiterentwickeln. Da geht es um Fragen von Licht und Raum, um die Wirkkraft von Farbe und Material, optische Effekte und die Auflösung der Grenzen von Tafelbild, Objekt und Installation. Das Interesse und die Aufmerksamkeit der Künstler der Ausstellung für die Positionen und Fragstellungen der Gruppe Zero und ihrer Protagonisten, Heinz Mack, Günther Ücker und Otto Piene, aber auch für Arbeiten und Ideen von Lucio Fontana, Piero Manzoni oder Yves Klebeweisen welche Bedeutung, Kraft und Aktualität in deren Ideen über ihre Zeit hinaus entwickelten.

mehr lesen

Lassen sich aus den Arbeiten von Guiseppe Amadio und Bruno Gambone, die die Künstler der Zero Gruppe noch kannten und im Dialog mit Ihnen standen, noch direkte Bezüge und eine ähnliche künstlerische Praxis erkennen, so geht es bei der jüngeren Generation auch immer wieder um Anspielungen und Paraphrasierungen einer Haltung und ihrer Zeit.

Die Ausstellung findet in einem verlassenen Bürogebäude statt, dessen kühle standardisierte, der Moderne verpflichtete Architektur einen idealen Rahmen für die abstrakten, Fläche, Raum und Farbe thematisierenden Arbeiten darstellt.

Der Titel der Ausstellung basiert auf einem bekannten Rap Lied der 90er Jahre ›They want EFX‹ der HipHop Gruppe EFX, das in seinem manifesthaftem Aufbegehren eine ideale Begleitmelodie zur Ausstellung abgeben könnte.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Barbara Hammer