What Is and What Should Never Be

Alina Yakirevitch, Martine Flor

What Is and What Should Never Be

Alina Yakirevitch, Martine Flor

Curated by

Myles Starr

Exhibition

9 June – 1 July

Opening

8 June 19:00

Location

Rennweg 110-116

In the exhibition 'What Is and What Should Never Be', curator Myles Starr confronts a video projection by Alina Yakirevitch with the photogram works of Martine Flor, to address the limits of human nature.

Martine Flor (b.1989) is an multidisciplinary artist from Norway, currently living between Sweden and New York. Through material processes often defined in series, she investigates a liminal space between objects, the preverbal and the sign. She holds an MFA (2018) from Malmö Art Academy with an exchange to Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien (2017). In 2019 she was the assistant of Mary Kelly in Los Angeles and in 2021-22 she participated in The Whitney Independent Study Program in New York. Recent exhibitions include Artists Space, New York, Heerz Tooya Gallery in Veliko Tarnovo and Obra Gallery in Malmö.

Alina Yakirevitch was born in Russia, in 1994. She is a multidisciplinary artist who works in film, installation, sound, sculpture and text. The recurring experience of migration, first from Russia to Israel, then from Israel to the US, serves as a catalyst to her process. In her films Yakirevitch uses rhythm and bodily interactions as points of focus. Past exhibitions include Hauser and Wirth Gallery, New York, Trestle Gallery, New York, Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Tel Aviv, Israel, and Gabirol Gallery, Tel Aviv. Upcoming shows: Rust, two person show with Rachel Flaith at P.A.D gallery, New York, Time Space, group show with Bush Collective in Tel Aviv.

read more

Myles Starr (B. 1987 New York) Is an artist, curator, and writer. In each endeavor he aims to figure out what is 'good' and 'bad': paintings, sculptures, writing, exhibitions, and art. He started the exhibition space / program, SORT, with Katharina Hoglinger in Vienna and is the director of the exhibition platform Louis Reed based in lower Manhattan. He lives between Vienna and New York City.

read less
More Exhibitions
Sonia Leimer
Eroberung des Nutzlosen

What Is and What Should Never Be

Alina Yakirevitch, Martine Flor

What Is and What Should Never Be

Alina Yakirevitch, Martine Flor

Kuratiert von

Myles Starr

Ausstellung

9 Juni – 1 Juli 2022

Eröffnung

8 Juni 19:00

Ort

Rennweg 110-116

Der Kurator Myles Starr stellt eine Videoprojektion von Alina Yakirevitch mit den Fotogramm-Arbeiten von Martine Flor gegenüber und widmet sich der Fragestellung der Grenzen des Mensch-Sein.

Martine Flor (geb. 1989) ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin aus Norwegen, die zurzeit zwischen Schweden und New York lebt. Durch materielle Prozesse, die oft in Serien definiert werden, erforscht sie einen Grenzbereich zwischen Objekten, dem Präverbalen und dem Zeichen. Sie hat einen MFA (2018) von der Malmö Art Academy mit einem Austausch an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien (2017). Im Jahr 2019 war sie Assistentin von Mary Kelly in Los Angeles und 2021-22 nahm sie am The Whitney Independent Study Program in New York teil. Zu ihren jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören Artists Space, New York, Heerz Tooya Gallery in Veliko Tarnovo und Obra Gallery in Malmö.

Alina Yakirevitch wurde 1994 in Russland geboren. Sie ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin, die in den Bereichen Film, Installation, Sound, Skulptur und Text arbeitet. Die immer wiederkehrende Erfahrung der Migration, zunächst von Russland nach Israel, dann von Israel in die USA, dient als Katalysator für ihren Prozess. In ihren Filmen setzt Yakirevitch Rhythmus und körperliche Interaktionen als Schwerpunkte ein. Zu den bisherigen Ausstellungen gehören Hauser and Wirth Gallery, New York, Trestle Gallery, New York, Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Tel Aviv, Israel, und Gabirol Gallery, Tel Aviv. Kommende Ausstellungen: Rust, Zweipersonenausstellung mit Rachel Flaith in der P.A.D Galerie, New York, Time Space, Gruppenausstellung mit Bush Collective in Tel Aviv.

mehr lesen

Myles Starr (geb. 1987 in New York) ist Künstler, Kurator und Autor. In jedem Bereich versucht er herauszufinden, was ›gut‹ und ›schlecht‹ ist: Malerei, Skulpturen, Schreiben, Ausstellungen und Kunst. Er gründete zusammen mit Katharina Hoglinger den Ausstellungsraum SORT in Wien und ist Direktor der Ausstellungsplattform Louis Reed in Lower Manhattan. Er lebt zwischen Wien und New York City.

weniger lesen
Weitere Ausstellungen
Sonia Leimer
Eroberung des Nutzlosen