Albert Mayr

Orchestrated View

Albert Mayr

Orchestrated View

Exhibition

30 Nov –20 Dec, 2016

Opening

29 Nov 19:00

Curated by

Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein

Location

Gumpendorferstrasse 6, 1060 Wien

Thanks to

Thurn & Bauer

Photography

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

The Neue Kunstverein Wien is pleased to present ‘Orchestrated Overview,’ the first solo exhibition of the Austrian artist Albert Mayr in Vienna. His artistic work has just been awarded the prestigious MO Prize 2016, by the Museum Ostwall, in Dortmund.

Albert Mayr investigates, deconstructs, and reconstructs, at the crossing point of natural and cultural spaces, circuits that reveal new ways to experience the world by radically breaking with aesthetic paradigms.

read more

The exhibition ‘Orchestrated Overview’ is the first show to present an overview of Mayr's artistic production from the period between 2006-16, focusing on his complex of works on paper, which have not been exhibited previously. They represent a direct, intimate transcription of the artistic space of thought.
Drawings, sketches, artists' books, pictorial reflections, and collages embody intimate notations of everyday life that transfer the experienced and the imagined into a rhizomatic order. As a medium of the experience of life itself, these visualizations of ‘soliloquies with response’ are an effective performance on their image carriers. With-for-and against each other, this graphic work forms a correspondence, marked by intense content and aesthetics, of an artistic perspective that does not dedicate itself to superficial functions but rather challenges their fractures and dysfunctionalities.

The exhibition is accompanied by the artist's book, ‘Albert Mayr, Sketch Book’, published by Flat Mountain Press, with texts by Susanne Neuburger, Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein, and Denis Tyfus, as well as a special edition.

read less
Previous
Painting is Not The Issue
Iris Dittler, Kerstin von Gabain, Evelyn Plaschg, Noushin Redjaian

Albert Mayr

Orchestrated View

Albert Mayr

Orchestrated View

Ausstellung

30 Nov –20 Dez, 2016

Eröffnung

29 Nov 19:00

Kuratiert von

Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein

Ort

Gumpendorferstrasse 6, 1060 Wien

Dank an

Thurn & Bauer

Fotografie

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

Der Neue Kunstverein Wien freut sich, mit ›Orchestrated Overview‹, die erste Personale des österreichischen Künstlers Albert Mayr in Wien zu zeigen. Soeben wurde sein künstlerisches Werk mit dem namhaften MO Preis 2016, des Museums Ostwall, in Dortmund ausgezeichnet.

Albert Mayr untersucht, de- und rekonstruiert, an der Schnittstelle von Natur- und Kulturräumen, Kreisläufe, die, radikal mit ästhetischen Paradigmen brechend, Wege aufzeigen, die Welt neu synaesthetisch zu erfahren.

mehr lesen

Die Ausstellung Orchestrated Overview zeigt erstmals einen Überblick über die künstlerische Produktion Mayrs aus den Jahren 2006 — 16 und setzt dabei den Schwerpunkt auf seinen, bisher nicht gezeigten, Komplex von Papierarbeiten, die eine direkte, intime Niederschreibung des künstlerischen Denkraumes repräsentieren.

Zeichnungen, Skizzen, Künstlerbücher, pikturale Überlegungen und Collagen verkörpern dabei intime Notationen des Alltags, die dazu dienen, Erlebtes und Erdachtes in eine rhizomatische Ordnung zu überführen. Als Medium der Erfahrung des Lebens selbst, sind diese Visualisierungen von ›Selbstgesprächen mit Rückantwort‹ auf ihren Bildträgern effektvoll zur Aufführung gebracht. Mit- für- und gegeneinander bildet dieses grafische Werk eine von inhaltlichen und ästhetischen Intensitäten geprägte Entsprechung einer künstlerischen Sichtweise, die sich nicht den vordergründigen Funktionen verschreibt, sondern ihre Bruchstellen und Dysfunktionalitäten herausfordert.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint das Künstlerbuch, Albert Mayr, Sketch Book, im Verlag Flat Mountain Press, mit Texten von Susanne Neuburger, Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein und Denis Tyfus, sowie eine Sonderedition.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Painting is Not The Issue
Iris Dittler, Kerstin von Gabain, Evelyn Plaschg, Noushin Redjaian