Anna Mitterer

The Seen Walls of Lost Eden

Anna Mitterer

The Seen Walls of Lost Eden

Exhibition

13 Mar—4 Apr 2018

Opening

12 Mar 19:00

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6-8, 1010 Wien

Film Screening

12 Mar 19:00, ‘Queen of the Air’, 2017, 30 min

Thanks to

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Photography

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

For several years, Anna Mitterer has intensively studied the works and writings of the English author, painter, art theorist, social philosopher and critic John Ruskin. As part of this process, she combines already existing works and drawings with newly created ones to form a thematic installation.

This solo presentation will feature an object installation ‘The Seen Walls of Lost Eden’, 2006, as well as drawings created during the production of her new film ‘Queen of the Air’.

read more

Anna Mitterer's works reflect the topicality of Ruskin's theories and works on nature, landscape, work and man and his search for the lost Eden, the faded paradise, which is only recognized and becomes true once it is lost.
The protagonist in her work ‘The Seen Walls of Lost Eden’ could be borrowed from a Beckettian drama, but is equally influenced by the Victorian figure of the aging English art theorist and social critic John Ruskin.

John Ruskin was a lone campaigner against the negative effects of industrialization, which he believed brought with it the loss of human individuality in mass production and the merciless use of nature's resources.

In cooperation with Art Institute Vienna, the film ‘Queen of the Air’ will be shown to the audience for the first time on the exhibition's opening night. Anna Mitterer, filmmaker and artist, was born in Innsbruck and lives and works in Vienna. She completed her studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna with Gunter Damisch.

read less
Previous
Corporate Fatigue
Nelly Haliti, Thomas Julier, Nick Oberthaler, Jochen Schmith, Andrea Winkler

Anna Mitterer

The Seen Walls of Lost Eden

Anna Mitterer

The Seen Walls of Lost Eden

Ausstellung

13 Mar—4 Apr 2018

Eröffnung

12 Mar 19:00

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6-8, 1010 Wien

Film Screening

12 Mar 19:00, „Queen of the Air“, 2017, 30 min

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

Anna Mitterer hat sich seit mehreren Jahren intensiv mit den Werken und Schriften des englischen Autors, Malers, Kunsttheoretikers und Sozialphilosophen und Kritikers John Ruskin auseinandersetzt. Sie verbindet dabei ihre bereits realisierte mit neu entstandenen Arbeiten und Zeichnungen zu einer thematischen Installation.

Im Rahmen dieser Einzelpräsentation wird eine Objektinstallation ›The Seen Walls of Lost Eden‹, 2006 sowie Zeichnungen, die im Rahmen der Produktion ihres neuen Films ›Queen of the Air‹ entstanden sind, gezeigt.

mehr lesen

Anna Mitterers Arbeiten spiegeln die Aktualität von Ruskins Theorien und Werken zu Natur, Landschaft, Arbeit und Mensch und seiner Suche nach dem verlorenen Eden, dem verklungenen Paradieses wieder, das erst erkannt und damit wahr wird, wenn es verloren ist.
Der Protagonist in ihrer Arbeit ›The seen Walls of Lost Eden‹ könnte einem Beckettschen Drama entlehnt sein, ist aber auch von der viktorianischen Figur des alternden englischen Kunsttheoretikers und Sozialkritikers John Ruskin beeinflusst.

John Ruskin war ein einsamer Kämpfer gegen die negativen Auswirkungen der Industrialisierung, die seiner Meinung nach einen Verlust der menschlichen Individualität in der Massenproduktion und einen gnadenlosen Umgang mit den Ressourcen der Natur mit sich brachte.
In Kooperation mit dem Art Instiute Vienna wird der Film ›Queen of the Air‹ am Eröffnungsabend dem Publikum zum ersten Mal vorgeführt. Anna Mitterer, Filmemacherin und Künstlerin, wurde in Innsbruck geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Sie hat ihr Studium an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien bei Gunter Damisch abgeschlossen.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Corporate Fatigue
Nelly Haliti, Thomas Julier, Nick Oberthaler, Jochen Schmith, Andrea Winkler