Eye Know

Exhibition

3 Oct –22 Oct 2014

Opening

2 Oct 19:00

Curated by

Amir Shariat

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Adrian Buschmann, Alex Ruthner, Jannis Varelas, John Connor, JPW3, Lilli Thiessen, Mario Nubauer, Sayre Gomez, Sean Townle

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

Simon Vere

Hip hop hit Vienna hard in the late 80s and De La Soul were at the forefront of that battle. Deep down in the trenches, we knew that rap was about to revolutionise the world we lived in. Little did we know that the rappers’ lyrics were as prescient as Freud’s readings of the mind. ‘Dolby sound will be then top crowned / When I put the needle into your groove’ (De La Soul). Now just imagine what happens when the paint strikes the canvas! A great musician has a good ear and when Beethoven went deaf he had to rely on his eyesight to conduct his orchestra. When it comes to visual art the eye knows and this is where the buck stops. There is no way to fool the eye!

read more

Eye Know assembles young and promising artists currently living in Los Angeles and Vienna. There is an increasingly strong dialogue occurring between Los Angeles and Vienna, with many Austrian artists on residency in the ‘City of Lights’ and a venerable Austrian institution, the MAK, organizing a programme there called ‘MAK Schindler Residency’.

De La Soul introduced the Daisy Age to the world of rap in stark contrast to the prevalent gangsta rap of the 1980s. Today the poignant relevancy of their lyrics when reflecting on contemporary visual art is inescapable.

And on Mars where we could be all alone

And we make a song for two

Picture perfect things and I sing of how

Eye know Eye love you better

read less
Previous
Mary Reid Kelley

Eye Know

Ausstellung

3 Okt –22 Okt 2014

Eröffnung

2 Okt 19:00

Kuratiert von

Amir Shariat

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Adrian Buschmann, Alex Ruthner, Jannis Varelas, John Connor, JPW3, Lilli Thiessen, Mario Nubauer, Sayre Gomez, Sean Townle

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

Simon Vere

Der Hip-Hop hat Wien in den späten 80ern voll ergriffen und De La Soul waren an vorderster Front mit dabei. In unserem tiefsten Innersten wussten wir, dass der Rap im Begriff war, die Welt, in der wir lebten, zu revolutionieren. Doch wir wussten noch nicht, dass die Texte der Rapper so vorausschauend sein würden wie Freuds Deutungen des Geistes. ›Dolby sound will be then top crowned / When I put the needle into your groove‹ (De La Soul). Jetzt stellen Sie sich vor, was passiert, wenn die Farbe auf die Leinwand trifft! Ein großer Musiker hat ein gutes Ohr, und als Beethoven taub wurde, musste er sich auf sein Augenlicht verlassen, um sein Orchester zu dirigieren. Wenn es um visuelle Kunst geht, weiß das Auge Bescheid, und genau hier liegt der Hase im Pfeffer. Dem Auge kann man nichts vormachen!

mehr lesen

Eye Know versammelt junge und vielversprechende Künstler, die derzeit in Los Angeles und Wien leben. Zwischen Los Angeles und Wien gibt es einen stärkeren Dialog; viele österreichische Künstlern nehmen Teil an ›residency‹ Projekten in der ›Stadt der Lichter‹ und eine ehrwürdige österreichische Institution, das MAK, organisiert dort das Programm ›MAK Schindler Residency‹.

De La Soul führte das Daisy Age in die Welt des Rap ein — im krassen Gegensatz zum vorherrschenden Gangsta-Rap der 1980er Jahre. Heute ist die ergreifende Relevanz ihrer Texte bei der Reflexion über zeitgenössische visuelle Kunst unausweichlich.

And on Mars where we could be all alone
And we make a song for two
Picture perfect things and I sing of how
Eye know Eye love you better

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Mary Reid Kelley