Talkin’ All That Jazz

1.1.1. & Sigma1 Group

Talkin’ All That Jazz

1.1.1. & Sigma1 Group

Exhibition

25 Sep—23 Oct 2015

Opening

24 Sep 19:00

Curated by

Amir Shariat

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Thanks to

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Photography

Simon Vere

Sigma1 was a historical group that appeared in Timisoara, Romania in 1969 and was active until the mid-80s. The main members of the group were Stefan Bertalan, Constantin Flondor, and Doru Tulcan, who were joined for short periods by mathematicians Lucian Codreanu, Ion Gaita and Elisha Rusu. Sigma1 assimilated within the dynamics of its evolution the constructive art experiences previously undertaken by Stefan Bertalan, Constantin Flondor, and Roman Cotosman in the group 1.1.1.

read more

The exhibition curated by Amir Shariat will showcase the works of Roman Cotosman, Constantin Flondor, Doru Tulcan, and videos by the Sigma1 Group.

‘Romanian art is all the rage,’ said a collector friend the other week, yet it remains widely undiscovered. True they lived behind the Iron Curtain, but the art of the 1.1.1 Group and Sigma1 Group is anything but steely. Op Art, Land Art, Video Art at its best, very early on!

Constantin Flondor (b. 1936), who is currently part of the exhibition Mapping Bucharest at the MAK, was a founding member of both groups. He dedicated his life to the study of the primary elements (air, earth) – maybe he has Zoroastrian ancestry? This led him to a series of large-scale drawings, part of a global, all-encompassing comprehension of the world.

Doru Tulcan (b. 1943) was a member of Sigma1 between 1969-1978. His drawings and etchings explore the body’s representations and are the result of actionist experiments.

Roman Cotosman (1935-2006), was one of the few artists who challenged the concept of Socialist Realism imposed on Eastern Europe, which was then imprisoned both geopolitically and culturally. His desire to break free from the servitude of representation and synchronise Romanian art with the rest of Europe led him towards abstraction, of the constructivist genre.

Stetsasonic encapsulates the movement’s ideology in their 1988 rap song Talkin’ All That Jazz.

Well here’s how it started, heard you on the radio
Talking ’bout rap, saying all that crap
About how we sample, giving examples
Think we’ll let you get away with that?
You criticize our method of how we make records
You said it wasn’t art, so now we’re gonna rip you apart
Stop, check it out my man
This is the music of a hip-hop band
Jazz, well you can call it that
But this jazz retains a new format
Point, where you misjudged us
Speculated, created a fuss
You’ve made the same mistake politicians have
Talkin’ all that jazz

Amir Shariat

read less
Previous
Kay Walkowiak
Habitat

Talkin’ All That Jazz

1.1.1. & Sigma1 Group

Talkin’ All That Jazz

1.1.1. & Sigma1 Group

Ausstellung

25 Sep—23 Okt 2015

Eröffnung

24 Sep 19:00

Kuratiert von

Amir Shariat

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6–8, 1010 Wien

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien

Fotografie

Simon Vere

Sigma1 war eine historische Gruppe, die 1969 in Timisoara, Rumänien, entstand und bis Mitte der 80er Jahre aktiv war. Die Hauptmitglieder der Gruppe waren Stefan Bertalan, Constantin Flondor und Doru Tulcan, denen sich für kurze Zeit die Mathematiker Lucian Codreanu, Ion Gaita und Elisha Rusu anschlossen. Sigma1 assimilierte in der Dynamik seiner Entwicklung die konstruktiven Kunsterfahrungen, die zuvor von Stefan Bertalan, Constantin Flondor und Roman Cotosman in der Gruppe 1.1.1 gemacht wurden.
Die von Amir Shariat kuratierte Ausstellung zeigt Arbeiten von Roman Cotosman, Constantin Flondor, Doru Tulcan und Videos der Gruppe Sigma1.

mehr lesen

›Rumänische Kunst ist der letzte Schrei‹, sagte neulich ein befreundeter Sammler, und doch bleibt sie weitgehend unentdeckt. Zwar lebten sie hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang, aber die Kunst der 1.1.1 Group und der Sigma1 Group ist alles andere als stählern. Op Art, Land Art, Video Art at its best, und das schon sehr früh!

Constantin Flondor (geb. 1936), der derzeit in der Ausstellung Mapping Bucharest im MAK zu sehen ist, war Gründungsmitglied beider Gruppen. Er widmete sein Leben dem Studium der Primärelemente (Luft, Erde) - vielleicht ist er zoroastrischer Abstammung? Dies führte ihn zu einer Serie von großformatigen Zeichnungen, die Teil eines globalen, allumfassenden Weltverständnisses sind.
Doru Tulcan (geb. 1943) war zwischen 1969-1978 Mitglied von Sigma1. Seine Zeichnungen und Radierungen erforschen die Repräsentationen des Körpers und sind das Ergebnis aktionistischer Experimente.

Roman Cotosman (1935-2006), war einer der wenigen Künstler, die das Konzept des sozialistischen Realismus, das dem damals geopolitisch und kulturell gefangenen Osteuropa auferlegt wurde, in Frage stellte. Sein Wunsch, sich aus der Abhängigkeit von der Repräsentation zu befreien und die rumänische Kunst mit dem Rest Europas zu synchronisieren, führte ihn zur Abstraktion, zum konstruktivistischen Genre.

Stetsasonic bringt die Ideologie der Bewegung in ihrem Rap-Song ›Talkin' All That Jazz‹ von 1988 auf den Punkt:

Well here’s how it started, heard you on the radio
Talking ’bout rap, saying all that crap
About how we sample, giving examples
Think we’ll let you get away with that?
You criticize our method of how we make records
You said it wasn’t art, so now we’re gonna rip you apart
Stop, check it out my man
This is the music of a hip-hop band
Jazz, well you can call it that
But this jazz retains a new format
Point, where you misjudged us
Speculated, created a fuss
You’ve made the same mistake politicians have
Talkin’ all that jazz

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Kay Walkowiak
Habitat