Yingmei Duan

Thingness

Yingmei Duan

Thingness

Exhibition

24 May—22 Jun 2017

Opening and Live Performance

23 May 19:00

Curated by

Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein

Location

Franz Josefs Kai 3, 1010 Wien

Performance

21 Jun 18:00–20:00 with Bug Blanket, Anna Bochkova, Anna Brosch, Yilmaz Cagdas, Lotta Gadola, Moritz Gottschalk, Valerie Habsburg-Lothringen, Barbara Hainz, Camila Rhodi

Thanks to

Franz Josef Kai 3

Photography

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

'Thingness’, the first institutional solo exhibition of Yingmei Duan’s work in Austria, is dedicated to the latest works by the Chinese performance artist. For her show at the Neuer Kunstverein in Vienna, she creates an extensive performative installation. Duan invites gallery visitors to participate in a situation-driven experiment of artistic and social experience whose protagonists are the ordinary things of everyday life. In a multi-edged, multi-dimensional network, she directs her attention to the eloquence of things in the here and now.

read more

‘I was always very afraid to speak before the age of 21. I spent most of the time in silence because people could not understand my words even until I was a teenager. So I often talked to myself and the objects around me.’

The title ’Thingness’ plays with the fact, as Bruno Latour made us aware, that the word ‘thing’ refers to a meeting in a number of languages. Spaces for the negotiation of aesthetic and social multiplicity are thus formed regardless of the question of the human or non-human form of ‘delegates’.
Yingmei Duan, who has been increasingly using the concept of deceleration in her work, was born in China and is part of the Chinese avant-garde. She first worked in the legendary East Village in Beijing. In 1995, she took part in the collaborative performance ‘To add one meter to an anonymous mountain’, which is considered one of the classics of modern Chinese art.

Long durational performances are characteristic of Duan’s artistic style. Having participated in numerous international exhibitions, Duan’s work has been shown at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, the Biennales in Venice and Sydney, the Hayward Gallery in London, and the
Foundation Beyeler in Switzerland. Many of the artist’s numerous projects are based on real-time encounters between the artist and the viewer in which things and people are detached from the rhythm and functionality of their habits and given a new reality and an almost mythical weight in a new artistic framework. Thus Yingmei Duan creates scenarios where discarded objects, deprived of their normal meaning and purpose, her artistic figures, and the welcome intruders that are the viewers are confronted with each other in a direct way that is only made possible by the very fictional framework in which the exhibition operates.

read less
Previous
ELLEN CANTOR
Is Tragedy a Choice?

Yingmei Duan

Thingness

Yingmei Duan

Thingness

Ausstellung

24 Mai—22 Jun 2017

Eröffnung und Live Performance

23 Mai 19:00

Kuratiert von

Felicitas Thun-Hohenstein

Ort

Franz Josefs Kai 3, 1010 Wien

Performance

21 Jun 18:00–20:00 mit Bug Blanket, Anna Bochkova, Anna Brosch, Yilmaz Cagdas, Lotta Gadola, Moritz Gottschalk, Valerie Habsburg-Lothringen, Barbara Hainz, Camila Rhodi

Dank an

Franz Josef Kai 3

Fotografie

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

›Thingness‹ , die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Yingmei Duans Werk in Österreich, ist den neuesten Arbeiten der chinesischen Performance Künstlerin gewidmet. Für ihre Schau im Neuen Kunstverein Wien erarbeitet sie eine umfangreiche performative Installation und lädt dazu ein, an einem situationsbedingten Experiment künstlerischer und sozialer Erfahrung teilzuhaben, dessen Protagonisten die gewöhnlichen Dinge des Alltags sind. Angesiedelt in einem vielfach verzweigten multimedialen dreidimensionalen Netzwerk lenkt sie ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf die Beredsamkeit der Dinge im Hier und Jetzt.

mehr lesen

›I was always very afraid to speak before the age of 21, because I spent most oft he time in silence because people could not understand my words even until I was a teenager. So I often talked to myself and the objects around me.‹

Der Titel Thingness spielt dabei mit der von Bruno Latour ins Rennen gebrachten Tatsache, dass das Wort Ding in einer Reihe von Sprachen eine Versammlung bezeichnet. Unabhängig von der Frage nach der menschlichen bzw. nicht-menschlichen Form der ›Delegierten‹ bilden sich solchermaßen Orte der Verhandlung ästhetischer und sozialer Multitude.

Yingmei Duan, die für ihre Arbeiten verstärkt das Element der Entschleunigung nutzt, ist in China geboren und Teil der chinesischen Avantgarde. Sie arbeitete zunächst im legendären Künstlerviertel East Village in Beijing. 1995 nahm sie an der Gemeinschafts-Performance ›To add one meter to an anonymous mountain‹ teil, die als einer der Klassiker der modernen chinesischen Kunst gilt. Langzeit-Performances sind kennzeichnend für Duans Performancestil.

Zahllose internationale Ausstellungen haben sie bekannt gemacht. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u. a. im Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, auf der Biennale von Venedig und Sydney, der Hayward Gallery in London und der Fondation Beyeler gezeigt. Viele der Projekte der Künstlerin basieren auf einer Echtzeit-Begegnung zwischen Künstlerin und BetrachterIn, wobei Dinge und Menschen aus dem Rhythmus und der Funktionalität ihrer Gewohnheiten herausgelöst werden und in einer neuen szenischen Rahmung eine neue Realität und beinahe mythisches Gewicht erhalten. Solchermaßen generiert Yingmei Duan Orte, an denen die weggeworfenen, ihres normalen Sinns und Zwecks beraubten Dinge, Yingmei Duans Kunstfiguren und die willkommenen Eindringlinge der Zuschauer mit erst durch den fiktionalen Rahmen ermöglichter Direktheit aufeinander treffen.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
ELLEN CANTOR
Is Tragedy a Choice?