Alexandra Waliszewska

Absurden, obszönen Steingötzen der Tschanvölker

Alexandra Waliszewska

Absurden, obszönen Steingötzen der Tschanvölker

Exhibition

16 Sep — 15 Oct 2017

Opening

15 Sep 19:00

Location

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6-8, 1010 Wien

Filmscreening

15 Sep 20:00, Athena Rachel Tsangari ‘The Capsule’ (2012)

Thanks to

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien, Leto Gallery, Warschau und Haos Film, Athen

Photography

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

At its fall exhibition Neuer Kunstverein Wien is presenting the work of Aleksandra Waliszewska. Waliszewska’s art is characterized by her fascination with dark, dream-like scenes in which the macabre is confronted with the grotesque, and beauty encounters horror. In her early work, she investigated the art of the Italian Quattrocento, interested specifically in the way the paint was applied and in its colors. She was particularly fascinated by the paintings of Piero della Francesca, Massacio, and Giotto. However, her work also calls to mind the work of Vermeer, Balthus, the portrayals of Goya, and the medieval paintings of Hans Memling.

Waliszewska’s 25 × 35 cm gouaches often show young girls in danger, mostly portraits of herself but sometimes hybrid beings whose sex remains undefined. Her focus is on subjects such as violence, cruelty, torture and sexual repression, sadistic men, and evil animal beings similar to humans. Waliszewska can be read as a chronicler of the ‘human condition’ given the monumental, phantasmagorical world she composes, consisting — like a kaleidoscope — of images and stories, a world in which age-old fables are confronted with a frightening present; it is a chronicle that seems to recount a world fluctuating between hope, happiness and the apocalyptic.

read more

‘(…) mystical beings such as a spider woman, a dragon, or Eve from the Old Testament seducing Adam put in an appearance in these scenarios which — in the tradition of that late 18th-century painter — are reminiscent of the paintings of Francesco Goya. These are pictures revealing the sheer scope of man’s imagination, an imagination driven by fears, violence, and sexual desire. In Waliszewska’s pictures, sexual desire, which vacillates between innocence and seduction, longing and violence, life and death, is almost always present. This renders these pictures at once tragic and comical, perfidious and naïve, profound and banal. It is this which makes them real, like life itself (…)’. In an interview with Maurizio Cattelan, Waliszewska ironically described her work as ‘a warning about evil before the beginning of the time of delight and gentleness.’

For the title of her exhibition at Neuer Kunstverein Wien, Aleksandra Waliszewska chose a quotation from the fantastic novel ‘Alraune’ by the scandalous bestselling author Hanns Heinz Ewers. Writing in the pre-war Art Nouveau period, his works were considered trivial, immoral, or indeed pornographic. The protagonist, Alraune, could also have been born of a mythical creature from Waliszewska’s pictures.

Alraune is a young girl whose mother, a prostitute, conceived her via artificial insemination. The ejaculate came from a sex murderer, taken at the time of his execution by hanging. The book is based on the medieval myth of the mandrake, namely that a man’s final ejaculation occurs when he has hanged leads to the growth in the soil of the rare mandrake plant, which was accorded magical powers. It was believed to be lucky and make things invisible. The protagonist in the novel, Alraune (the German name for the mandrake plant), is considered a promiscuous and depraved vamp, with no feelings and no soul, whose erotic appeal bewitches all men. In the end, she jumps to her death. The story combines a pagan legend with questions of artificial insemination, individuality, genetic engineering, and the social and biological manipulation (social engineering) of Nazi ideology.

Waliszewska’s work has influenced various artists, including the writer Szczepan Twardoch and his cartoon film ‘Piwnica’. Inspired by Waliszewska’s work, director Athena Rachel Tsangari produced the film ‘The Capsule’ (2010) — Waliszewska not only co-scripted the movie but also played one of the main protagonists. The film was shown at Documenta 13 in 2012. Both films, ‘Piwnica’ and ‘The Capsule’ will be complementing the Waliszewska retrospective at Neuer Kunstverein Wien.

Aleksandra Waliszewska born 1976 in Warsaw, Graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw.

read less
Previous
Yingmei Duan
Thingness

Alexandra Waliszewska

Absurden, obszönen Steingötzen der Tschanvölker

Alexandra Waliszewska

Absurden, obszönen Steingötzen der Tschanvölker

Ausstellung

16 Sep — 15 Okt 2017

Eröffnung

15 Sep 19:00

Ort

Hochhaus Herrengasse 6-8, 1010 Wien

Filmscreening

15 Sep 20:00, Athena Rachel Tsangari ›The Capsule‹ (2012)

Dank an

Hochhaus Herrengasse Wien, Leto Gallery, Warschau und Haos Film, Athen

Fotografie

© Neuer Kunstverein Wien

Der Neue Kunstverein Wien präsentiert in seiner Herbstausstellung die Arbeiten von Aleksandra Waliszewska. Aleksandra Waliszewska’s künstlerische Welt ist geprägt von Ihrer Faszination für dunkle, traumhafte Szenen, in denen Makabres auf Groteskes und Schönheit auf Horror treffen. In ihren frühen Arbeiten untersuchte sie die italienische Kunst des Quattrocento. Farbauftrag und Farben interessierten die Künstlerin insbesondere in der Malerei von Piero della Francesca, Massacio oder Giotto. Ihre Arbeiten lassen aber auch an die Werke von Vermeer, Balthus bzw. an die Darstellungen Goya’s und der mittelalterlichen Malerei Hans Memling’s denken.

In ihren Gouachen im Format 25 × 35 cm zeigt Waliszewska oft junge, bedrohte Mädchen, meist Ihre eigenen Portraits, aber auch hybride Wesen undefinierbaren Geschlechts. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei Themen von Gewalt, Grausamkeit, Folter und sexueller Unterdrückung, sadistische Männer und menschenähnliche bösartige Tierwesen. Waliszewska’s monumentale, sich kaleidoskopartig aus Bildern und Geschichten formende, phantasmagorische Welt, in der uralte Fabeln auf eine beängstigende Gegenwart treffen, lassen sie als Chronistin der ›conditio humanae‹, einer Welt zwischen Hoffnung, Glück und Apokalypse erscheinen.

mehr lesen

›(…)Fabelwesen wie eine Spinnenfrau, ein Drache oder die alttestamentarische Eva, die Adam verführt, treten in diesen Szenarien auf, die — in der Tradition des spanischen Malers des ausgehenden 18. Jahrhunderts — an Bilder Francesco Goya’s erinnern. Es sind Bilder, welche die Ungeheuerlichkeit menschlicher Phantasie offenbaren, die von Ängsten, Gewalt und sexuellen Begehren getrieben wird. Das sexuelle Begehren, das zwischen Unschuld und Verführung, Sehnsucht und Gewalt, Leben und Tod oszilliert, ist in den Bildern von Waliszewska fast immer gegenwärtig. Das macht diese Bilder gleichzeitig tragisch und komisch, hinterhältig und naiv, tiefgründig und banal. Das macht sie real wie das Leben selbst (…)‹. In einem Gespräch mit Maurizio Cattelan bezeichnete Sie ironisch Ihre Arbeit als ›eine Warnung vor dem Bösen, bevor die Zeit der Freude und Liebenswürdigkeit anbricht.‹

Aleksandra Waliszewska wählt als Titel der Ausstellung im Neuen Kunstverien Wien ein Zitat aus dem phantastischen Roman ›Alraune. Die Geschichte eines lebenden Wesens‹ des skandalumwitterten Bestsellerautors Hanns Heinz Ewers der Jugendstil- und Vorkriegszeit, dessen Werke als trivial, unmoralisch oder auch pornographisch galten. Die Hauptfigur der Alraune könnte auch eine auch ein Fabelwesen aus Waliszewskas Bildern entsprungen sein.

Die Alraune ist ein junges Mädchen, dessen Mutter, eine Prostituierte, sie durch eine künstliche Befruchtung empfing. Das Ejakulat stammt von einem Lustmörder, das zum Zeitpunkt seiner Hinrichtung durch Hängen entnommen wurde. Zugrunde liegt dem Buch die mittelalterliche Sage vom Galgenmännchen: Der beim Erhängen eines Mannes eintretende letzte Samenerguss führt im Boden zum Entstehen der seltenen Alraunenpflanze, der magische Fähigkeiten zugeschrieben werden. Sie soll Glück bringen und unsichtbar machen können.Die Romanfigur der Alraune gilt als promiskuitiv und lasterhafter Vamp, ohne Gefühle und Seele, dessen erotischer Ausstrahlung alle Männer verfallen. Am Ende stürzt sie sich in den Tod.

Die Geschichte verbindet eine heidnische Legende mit Fragen künstlicher Befruchtung , Individualität, Gentechnik und sozialer und biologischer Manipulation (social engineering ) der Naziideologie.

Die Arbeiten von Aleksandra Waliszewska beeinflussten unterschiedliche Künstler, darunter den Schriftsteller Szczepan Twardoch und seinen Animationsfilm ›Piwnica‹. 2012 produzierte die Regisseurin Athena Rachel Tsangari inspiriert durch Waliszewska’s Arbeit den Film ›The Capsule‹ (2010), in welchem Waliszewska nicht nur als Koautorin, sondern auch als eine der Hauptdarstellerinnen fungierte. Der Film wurde auf der Dokumenta 13 im Jahr 2012 gezeigt. Beide Filme ›Piwnica‹ und ›The Capsule‹ werden die Werkschau von Aleksandra Waliszewska im Neuen Kunstverein Wien ergänzen.

Aleksandra Waliszewska geboren 1976 in Warschau. Studium an der Kunstakademie in Warszawa. Diplom mit Auszeichnung an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Warschau.

weniger lesen
Vergangene Ausstellung
Yingmei Duan
Thingness